October 2013

Ancient Sorceries And Other Chilling Tales
May 2013

Evelyn Waugh: a biography
A Talent To Annoy
October 2012

The Savage Wedding
Break of Day
Christmas Pudding (hardback gift edition)
Les Belles Amours
July 2012

The Cabala
The Woman of Andros & The Ides of March
The Man on the Bridge
The Love of the Last Tycoon & The Crack-up
Roundabout Way
May 2012

On the Side of the Angels
The Secret City
The World Over
October 2011

Pigeon Pie
The Juniper Tree
Christmas Pudding
July 2011

New Arabian Nights
The Mystery of a Hansom Cab
Uncommon Law
May 2011

When I was Otherwise
The Real Charlotte
October 2010

A Christmas Carol - No Longer Available
The Aloe - No Longer Available
The Gift of the Magi - No Longer Available
Agnes Grey - No Longer Available
July 2010

The Undiscovered Country
Island Pharisees - No Longer Available
Heart of Darkness - No Longer Available
Highland Fling
May 2010

The Man Who Loved Children
Maurice Guest - No Longer Available
Peking Picnic
The Unbearable Bassington - No Longer Available
March 2010

Scenes from the Latin Quarter - No Longer Available
Wuthering Heights - No Longer Available
The Knot of Vipers
The Green Child
January 2010

The Dupin Mysteries
These Charming People
Non Combatants and others
October 2009

Allan Quatermain
A State of Change
Love in Winter
July 2009

We, the Accused
Shirley's Guild
May 2009

Gulliver's Travels and A Modest Proposal
You Shall Know Them
My Name is Aram
Silas Marner - No Longer Available
March 2009

South Wind
The Conclave
Two People
January 2009

Mr. Perrin and Mr. Traill - Kindle edition
The Voyage
Mr Perrin and Mr Traill - No Longer Available
Love in a Wych Elm & Other Stories
Tales of Sexual Desire
October 2008

Juan in America
How I Became a Holy Mother
Kidnapped - No Longer Available
The Hireling
July 2008

The Hound of the Baskervilles - No Longer Available
Messer Marco Polo - No Longer Available
Green Dolphin Country
The Incredulity of Father Brown
June 2008

The Dark Flower - No Longer Available
The Napoleon of Notting Hill
Dracula - No Longer Available
The Man who Knew Everything - Kindle edition
The Man Who Knew Everything
March 2008

The Green Hat
An Error of Judgement
On Horseback and Other Stories
Plain Tales from the Hills - No Longer Available
An Error of Judgement

272 pages, paperback
125x195mm, Portrait
ISBN-10: 0955519667
ISBN-13: 9780955519666
Setter, an eminent Harley Street consultant, is trusted and admired by his circle of friends, devoting himself to the rehabilitation of the lonely and the misunderstood. But deep within himself Setter recognizes a latent streak of sadistic cruelty which enables him to perceive the truth about a delinquent youth whom he suspects of having taken part in a particularly repellent and senseless crime. It is for Setter to choose a punishment – and enforce it. An Error of Judgement is a subtle study of human weakness and conflict. Partly a wry social comedy and partly a study in good and evil, it is brilliantly written and observed, assured and skilful, a truly modern work by one of the most underrated novelists of the last century.

Olivia Laing's review of An Error of Judgement in The Guardian, 1st March 2008

‘One of the best novels in English since 1939.’ Anthony Burgess

‘I think the peculiar force of An Error of Judgement derives from the fact that the truths [Hansford Johnson] wants to tell are not only psychological but in some sense religious… A remarkable craftswoman, arranging her scenes and images with an unassertive wit and economy.’ AS Byatt
Pamela Hansford Johnson - Pamela Hansford Johnson was born in London in 1912. She began her literary career by writing poems. In 1933, Pamela wrote to Dylan Thomas, and a friendship developed. Marriage was considered, but the idea abandoned. In 1936 she married Australian writer Gordon Neil and In 1950 C.P. Snow.

Her first novel, This Bed Thy Centre, was published in 1935. Her other books include the ‘Dorothy Merlin’ trilogy The Humbler Creation (1959) and The Good Listener (1975). She held visiting academic positions at American universities and reviewed and broadcast extensively. In 1975 she received the CBE. She died in 1981.

Pamela Hansford Johnson and Dylan Thomas

Ann Widdecombe - As shadow home secretary from 1998 to 2001, Ann Widdecombe earned a reputation as one of Britain’s liveliest and most direct politicians. Her achievements outside politics include becoming a popular novelist, as well as presenting television programmes. Ann Widdecombe, a devout Catholic, has a life-long love for G.K. Chesterton’s Father Brown adventures.

To learn more about Ann Widdecombe please visit her website.

By the same author or foreword writer:
The Incredulity of Father Brown By G K Chesterton;  Ann Widdecombe (Foreword)