October 2013

Ancient Sorceries And Other Chilling Tales
May 2013

Evelyn Waugh: a biography
A Talent To Annoy
October 2012

The Savage Wedding
Break of Day
Christmas Pudding (hardback gift edition)
Les Belles Amours
July 2012

The Cabala
The Woman of Andros & The Ides of March
The Man on the Bridge
The Love of the Last Tycoon & The Crack-up
Roundabout Way
May 2012

On the Side of the Angels
The Secret City
The World Over
October 2011

Pigeon Pie
The Juniper Tree
Christmas Pudding
July 2011

New Arabian Nights
The Mystery of a Hansom Cab
Uncommon Law
May 2011

When I was Otherwise
The Real Charlotte
October 2010

A Christmas Carol - No Longer Available
The Aloe - No Longer Available
The Gift of the Magi - No Longer Available
Agnes Grey - No Longer Available
July 2010

The Undiscovered Country
Island Pharisees - No Longer Available
Heart of Darkness - No Longer Available
Highland Fling
May 2010

The Man Who Loved Children
Maurice Guest - No Longer Available
Peking Picnic
The Unbearable Bassington - No Longer Available
March 2010

Scenes from the Latin Quarter - No Longer Available
Wuthering Heights - No Longer Available
The Knot of Vipers
The Green Child
January 2010

The Dupin Mysteries
These Charming People
Non Combatants and others
October 2009

Allan Quatermain
A State of Change
Love in Winter
July 2009

We, the Accused
Shirley's Guild
May 2009

Gulliver's Travels and A Modest Proposal
You Shall Know Them
My Name is Aram
Silas Marner - No Longer Available
March 2009

South Wind
The Conclave
Two People
January 2009

Mr. Perrin and Mr. Traill - Kindle edition
The Voyage
Mr Perrin and Mr Traill - No Longer Available
Love in a Wych Elm & Other Stories
Tales of Sexual Desire
October 2008

Juan in America
How I Became a Holy Mother
Kidnapped - No Longer Available
The Hireling
July 2008

The Hound of the Baskervilles - No Longer Available
Messer Marco Polo - No Longer Available
Green Dolphin Country
The Incredulity of Father Brown
June 2008

The Dark Flower - No Longer Available
The Napoleon of Notting Hill
Dracula - No Longer Available
The Man who Knew Everything - Kindle edition
The Man Who Knew Everything
March 2008

The Green Hat
An Error of Judgement
On Horseback and Other Stories
Plain Tales from the Hills - No Longer Available
Island Pharisees - No Longer Available

July 2010

304 pages, Paperback
130x198mm, Portrait
ISBN-10: 1907429018
ISBN-13: 9781907429019
With the writing of this novel, Galsworthy began what he considered his important work, and it set the template in style and content for all his subsequent writing. Galsworthy wrote the novel as a wide-ranged traveller returned home, prepared to confront the entrenched and self-serving moneyed elite. The pharisaical egoism of England’s ruling class (with which he was familiar, as a member) remained his focus throughout most of his work.

Told through the eyes of Richard Shelton, who can feel at home netiher among his ‘natural’ privileged class nor the poor of his acquaintance, this is a compelling satire on the hypocrisy of the upper classes and the narrow-mindedness of the English abroad, The Island Pharisees is a brave and important novel by one of the leading British writers of the twentieth century.
John Galsworthy - John Galsworthy was born in 1867. An early encounter with Joseph Conrad helped inspire him to write, and he went on to enjoy a successful career as one of the most widely read novelists of his day. Galsworthy was elected first president of the International PEN literary club in 1921. Today he is best remembered for his Forsyte Saga, for which he won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1932. He died in 1933, aged 65.

Please follow this link for more information about the life of John Galsworthy.

John Galsworthy and International P.E.N.

Anthony Gardner - In his role over recent years as Editor of the Royal Society of Literature's annual Review, Anthony Gardner has built a reputation for fine judgment and eclectic scholarship in the field of recent English letters.

The Royal Society of Literature

By the same author or foreword writer:
The Dark Flower - No Longer Available By John Galsworthy;  Anthony Gardner (Introduction)
Mr Perrin and Mr Traill - No Longer Available By Hugh Walpole;  Anthony Gardner (Foreword)
The Conclave By Michael Bracewell;  Anthony Gardner (Foreword)
The Mystery of a Hansom Cab By Fergus Hume;  Anthony Gardner (Foreword)
The World Over By Edith Wharton;  Anthony Gardner (Foreword)
Mr. Perrin and Mr. Traill - Kindle edition By Hugh Walpole;  Anthony Gardner (Introduction)