October 2013

Ancient Sorceries And Other Chilling Tales
May 2013

Evelyn Waugh: a biography
A Talent To Annoy
October 2012

The Savage Wedding
Break of Day
Christmas Pudding (hardback gift edition)
Les Belles Amours
July 2012

The Cabala
The Woman of Andros & The Ides of March
The Man on the Bridge
The Love of the Last Tycoon & The Crack-up
Roundabout Way
May 2012

On the Side of the Angels
The Secret City
The World Over
October 2011

Pigeon Pie
The Juniper Tree
Christmas Pudding
July 2011

New Arabian Nights
The Mystery of a Hansom Cab
Uncommon Law
May 2011

When I was Otherwise
The Real Charlotte
October 2010

A Christmas Carol - No Longer Available
The Aloe - No Longer Available
The Gift of the Magi - No Longer Available
Agnes Grey - No Longer Available
July 2010

The Undiscovered Country
Island Pharisees - No Longer Available
Heart of Darkness - No Longer Available
Highland Fling
May 2010

The Man Who Loved Children
Maurice Guest - No Longer Available
Peking Picnic
The Unbearable Bassington - No Longer Available
March 2010

Scenes from the Latin Quarter - No Longer Available
Wuthering Heights - No Longer Available
The Knot of Vipers
The Green Child
January 2010

The Dupin Mysteries
These Charming People
Non Combatants and others
October 2009

Allan Quatermain
A State of Change
Love in Winter
July 2009

We, the Accused
Shirley's Guild
May 2009

Gulliver's Travels and A Modest Proposal
You Shall Know Them
My Name is Aram
Silas Marner - No Longer Available
March 2009

South Wind
The Conclave
Two People
January 2009

Mr. Perrin and Mr. Traill - Kindle edition
The Voyage
Mr Perrin and Mr Traill - No Longer Available
Love in a Wych Elm & Other Stories
Tales of Sexual Desire
October 2008

Juan in America
How I Became a Holy Mother
Kidnapped - No Longer Available
The Hireling
July 2008

The Hound of the Baskervilles - No Longer Available
Messer Marco Polo - No Longer Available
Green Dolphin Country
The Incredulity of Father Brown
June 2008

The Dark Flower - No Longer Available
The Napoleon of Notting Hill
Dracula - No Longer Available
The Man who Knew Everything - Kindle edition
The Man Who Knew Everything
March 2008

The Green Hat
An Error of Judgement
On Horseback and Other Stories
Plain Tales from the Hills - No Longer Available
Juan in America

200 pages, paperback
125x195mm, Portrait
ISBN-10: 09557312411
ISBN-13: 9780955731242
Set in the year before the Wall Street crash, Juan in America is a classic evocation of the final mania of prohibition, as seen through equally maverick British eyes. The character Eric Linklater devised to be his unreliable explorer was one capable of absorbing the enormity of the American experience without being overwhelmed by its incongruities. A blithe, bastard descendent of Byron’s Don Juan, Linklater's Juan is an anti-hero with a taste for the grotesque and the ridiculous, at once both dirty and deity whose response when faced either with sudden catastrophe or miraculous survival is simply to laugh.

A novel in the mode of the picaresque, this is a story of erotic discovery in the sense, as Juan puts it, that “your trousers hide not only your nakedness but your kinship to the clown.” A nation emerging as a great power is exalting in absurdist energies. In its last spasms before the great depression, America is revealed through a series of unlikely accidents as Juan stumbles from state to state, somehow evading consequences as he goes. On his first day, he falls for the daughter of a gangster, witnesses a murder in a speakeasy and watches a woman leap to her death in a New York street. He thrills to the bizarreness of each spectacle and moves on to the next in a galloping mood that is part medieval romance, part running commentary on what was still, in the 1920s, the new world.

‘A magnificent frolic.’ JB Priestley
Time magazine review, May 1931

Eric Linklater - (1899-1974), was born in Wales and grew up in the Orkney islands. In the First World War he served with the Black Watch, and was wounded out in the German spring offensive of 1918. After studying at Aberdeen University, he went on to work as an assistant editor on the Times of India, and spent two years in the USA as a Commonwealth fellow, before publishing his first novel, White Maa’s Saga, in 1929. His reputation was established by his third novel, Juan in America (1931), a richly comic, picaresque extravaganza of American prohibition and the resultant gangsterism. Thereafter his overall literary output was vast and varied, establishing him as a leading British author of the Thirties and Forties and a major figure in the Scottish literary renaissance of the period. In all he wrote twenty-three novels, three volumes of short stories, two children's books, two books of verse, ten plays, three autobiographies, and another twenty-three books of miscellaneous essays and histories, including a study of the Italian campaign of the Second World War, and an account of Bonnie Prince Charlie’s flight from the battle of Culloden, The Prince in the Heather (1965). His major novels include The Men of Ness (1932), Magnus Merriman (1934), Private Angelo (1946), and The Dark of Summer (1956).

Alex Linklater - an associate editor of Prospect magazine and a freelance writer contributing to the Guardian and Observer. In 2005 he founded the National Short Story Award with BBC Radio 4. He has been a fellow of the National Endowment for Science Technology and the Arts, deputy arts editor of the London Evening Standard, and literary editor of the Glasgow Herald.